EU inbound travel: 3 countries banned again

Following a review under the recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, the European Council has updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted. Argentina, Australia and Canada have been banned again. The rules have no exceptions for medical tourists.

The list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks. From 17 January 2022, member states should gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of:

  • Bahrain
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • Macao
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Taiwan
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation. Schengen associated countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) also take part in this recommendation – but the UK does not.

The Council recommendation is not a legally binding instrument. The authorities of the member states remain responsible for implementing the content of the recommendation. They may, in full transparency, lift only progressively travel restrictions towards countries listed.