PCR testing required for Malta travellers

Malta is increasing the number of countries where tourists are allowed, but all must now be PCR tested. The country opened borders in July and added more counties in August. With the second batch of allowed countries came a new rule where people from certain countries must have a PCR test before entering. All tourists must also have a travel insurance policy that covers COVID-19 treatment. Arrivals have a temperature scan at the airport.

Green list countries that can enter Malta with no COVID-related restrictions, no mandatory tests, and no required quarantines are:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Rwanda
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City

Passengers from an amber list of countries, updated weekly, are required to submit a negative COVID-19 PCR test before boarding flights to Malta. These are:

  • Bulgaria
  • Romania
  • Spain (applies to passengers arriving from Barcelona, Girona and Madrid)

Red list countries, where entry is banned, include the USA.

Malta gets few medical tourists but those that do come have been mostly from the UK, France and Italy. Malta also has long standing deals with the UK and Italy to treat state patients, but as local hospitals have been built numbers have dwindled in recent years.